Skip to content
04/13/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

How do I Overcome Worry, Stress and Anxiety?

Today, do you feel that you are carrying any of these things?

  • the anxiety of the day
  • past grievances
  • an unfair life
  • a preoccupation with busyness
  • a desire for perfection
  • self-righteousness
  • a need to impress

First of all, you are not alone. I feel the same way you do too.  In my mind I keep going over my stresses and worries and sometimes I can’t sleep.  But I discovered that by setting my priorities straight, I’m able to focus on God more and trust him more.  I know that my God has the best plan for my life and he will watch over me like a shepherd who watches over his flock.  You will know that God can help you.

“The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

Practical things you can do:

  • Prayer and thanksgiving. – Philippians 4:6-7
  • Let others pray for you.  Let me pray for you. Talk to someone.
  • Philippians 4:8 commands us to ponder on the things that are true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable and excellent.  Remember the goodness of God.
  • When in doubt, simplify.  Declutter your mind, your space or your schedule.
  • Listen to good Christian music.
  • Write down all your worries and leave them to God.
  • Breathe and slow down.
  • Read Matthew 6:25-34.  Read it again.  Memorize it.

Jesus’ teaching is Matthew 6:25-34 is very powerful.  He says that we can’t add a single hour of our lives by worrying.  Tomorrow has its own troubles and we should just focus on today.  Sometimes I watch the birds and I remind myself that our heavenly father feeds all these birds, so surely he will take care of me.

Try the tips above and then let me know how you are doing.  Don’t beat yourself up too much.  God thinks you are perfect already.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Wan Liebherr / Jun 7 2011 4:23 pm

    I have a lot of respect when I see articles by other people who will be more of an expert as compared with me on this topic. The audience might think that looks effortless, but there’s so much going on behind the scenes. Your work is a result of analysis and knowledge by you and you were very good enough to share these with people like me. Thanks a lot.

Trackbacks

  1. God Said, “Thank Me, It’s Friday.” « Prayer Kingdom
  2. 10 Reasons to Simplify Christianity « Prayer Kingdom

Leave a Reply

