Skip to content
06/27/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

My Brutally Honest Personal Testimony

After writing the post How to Write a Personal Testimony (With Template), I knew that sooner or later, I would have to share my own testimony.
The reason I share my testimony is because I wish to share the love of Christ with as many people as possible.  I wish the non-believer who know me in real life can see another side of me. I wish the non-believer who don’t know me can feel the genuine love I have for them.

In the Gospel… There is freedom.  There is hope.  There is salvation. 

What my life was like before I met Christ:

I grew up in a divorced family.  I had a lot of issues with my parents.  I try to figure out every single way to solve my problems, but I never thought to ask for God’s help.  I thought I had to solve all my problems on my own.  I didn’t learn to care about my parents because I thought they hurt me.  I was very selfish.  The most important things to me was getting the best mark, going to the best university and getting the best job.  I saw everybody else as my competitor as oppose to people who I should love.

How I realized I needed Christ:

I started to going to a local church as an escape from my family in Gr.8 and Gr.9.  I felt safe and welcomed when I was at church.  However, my commitment to church faded as in the middle of Gr. 9.  Looking back now, I was very lost and confused when I was in high school.  I had a lot of financial difficulties.  I was depressed.  And I was in several broken relationships.  I learned about God at church, but I never knew who Jesus is and how his death influences me.

How I committed my life to Christ:

During the first year of my university life, somebody from Campus for Christ was handing our surveys in my class.  I filled the card out and ticked the box that said “I am interested in learning about Jesus”.  I knew that this was what I needed.  Immediately after, I was contacted by one of the staff members and we talked about my life and God.  She was very attentative and caring.  During that year, I started going back to church and joined Campus for Christ.  I met a lot of wonderful Christian students.

I was baptized in Jan 2009.  I have inner peace as well as a purpose for living now.

The Difference it has made in my life:

Now I have support from many Christian friends and my church family.  I know that when I need help with something, somebody will be there for me.  My brothers and sisters in Christ offer me advice and wisdom, and the church helps me by praying for me.

I also have more hope for the future.  I know that God has the best plan for my life.  I am not worried about school, career or relationships.  I want to help others around me now.  I don’t see my fellow students as my enemies.  I am thinking about graduate school and a career as an artist, but I know God will put the right opportunities in my life.

Coming from a divorced family, I was always worried about whether I will have a good marriage.  Now I learned so much more about what the marriage relationship is about and I am confident that God will help me through any difficulties that I may encounter.  God has freed me from my past. I have learned to forgive others and build relationships.  I am much more hopeful about being married and starting a family.

At last, I’m having a better relationship with my parents.  I know there are still many hurts and scars, but God will heal me.

        [20] Our soul waits for the LORD;
		he is our help and our shield.
	[21] For our heart is glad in him,
		because we trust in his holy name.
	[22] Let your steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us,
		even as we hope in you.
        (Psalm 33:20-22 ESV)


2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carol Ann Hoel / Jun 27 2011 9:12 pm

    Praise to the LORD! What a sweet testimony to the love of God through our LORD Jesus Christ! Thank you. Blessings to you…

Trackbacks

  1. How to Write a Personal Testimony (with Template) « Prayer Kingdom

Leave a Reply

