Skip to content
07/06/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

Why You Must Pray for Your City

Vancouverites hanging square-cut cloths with positive messages.

Today, I heard this story from my friend and it made my heart ache.

A homeless person asked my friend on the bus whether or not she could buy his $50 Earl’s certificate (Earl’s is a restaurant).  He said the people at Earl’s wouldn’t let him use it because he is homeless.

Is this really Vancouver? Is this really one of the most livable cities in the world? Is this the beautiful place that I fell in love with when I first landed here?

The truth is, many Vancouverites do not know the Gospel.  They are living their lives, ignoring all the poverty, all the sinfulness and ignoring God.  I wish I could stand in the middle of an intersection in downtown, with a microphone, and yell at the people to wake up and hear the good news.  But that would make me look like lunatic and wouldn’t help anybody.

A little while ago, the Vancouver Canucks (a hockey team) lost the Stanley Cup Finals to Boston. Immediately after the game, a riot started.  People were flipping cars, setting police cars on fire, and breaking store windows.  It was a shameful day for Vancouver.  I felt like my bleeding heart was sinking to a bottomless pit.

The day after the riot, all the broken glass windows were replaced by wood panels.  And people began to write on them, see photos here.  As I read through them, I realized that many voice were positive, apologetic and encouraging.  Moreover, on the next day, hundreds of volunteers showed up to clean up the streets.

I know what I have to do.

I must pray for my city.

This riot could have happened anywhere.  It could happen in your city.

You must pray for your city.

We must pray that God will protect our cities from the evil forces.

We must pray that the people who are lost will find the light.

We must pray for the saints to be protected and equipped to do God’s work.

We must pray for the poor and needy, as well as the people in power.

We must supplement our prayers with actions also.

The Lord is far from the wicked,

but he hears the prayer of the righteous. – Psalm 15:29

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carol Ann Hoel / Jul 6 2011 7:11 pm

    This is the first time I’ve looked at Psalm 15:29 from the perspective you have highlighted in your post. “The Lord is far from the wicked (so they cannot reach him and are helpless for that reason), but he hears the prayer of the righteous (who must pray for them and not let them down).”

    You are absolutely right! We MUST pray for our cities. Blessings to you…

  2. K Zhang / Jul 6 2011 8:00 pm

    Thank you Carol. Thank you for encouraging me to continue to write.

Trackbacks

  1. Will London Riot Continue? Praying for London. « Prayer Kingdom

Leave a Reply

