Skip to content
07/26/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

I will follow you, Lord, but…

God has been putting this following verse on my heart and calling me to serve him alone.

Yet another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but let me first say farewell to those at my home.” Jesus said to him, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.” – Luke 9:61-62

God is describing me here, the person with the half-hearted discipleship.  I am the person who says, “I will follow you, Lord, but…”

but I have school… I need good grades for a good career

but I have commitments to my friends and family

but just don’t embarass me

but just let me finished this last bit of television

but I need to be comfortable and financially secure

but can you make this journey of following you as smooth as possible

but… …

Jesus won’t allow the troubles of this life take precedence over following him. He says that anyone who puts his hand to the plow has to keep looking forward to guide the plow, for if he looks back the plow will quickly veer off course.

Jesus said: “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” Luke 9:23

The Parable of the Sower talks about the seeds that “fell among the thorns, they are those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by the cares and riches and pleasures of life, and their fruit does not mature.” – Luke 8:14

I must confess that I am the seed that fell among the thorns and are being choked by the cares, riches and pleasures of this life.  I know God didn’t place me in Canada to enjoy a nice comfortable life.  He has great plans for my life and  I am thinking way too small for my life.  There are so many commitments in my life that are unnecessary.  My mind is all over the place and it does not find rest in Jesus.

I need to simplify my life and my mind to reflect the knowledge that God is my only purpose and commitment.  Will you pray for me?

Leave a Reply

