Skip to content
08/19/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

12 Reasons Why Christians Must Travel

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Butchart Garden Victoria BC

I recently came back from a trip in Victoria, Canada.  Even though it is ridiculously close to my hometown, Vancouver, there were still many differences.  I had wanted to go to New York for a trip but I was constrained by finances. So I did a local trip.  Nevertheless, it was still fabulous and exciting.

During my trip, I thought about the reason that I travel.  The main reason is that I wanted to encounter God.  I know God is everywhere and He is always with me.  I know that I do not need to go to a specific place to find Him.  But I realized that my main action is not to seek God but to make myself available to Him. I needed to get out of my regular routine to be available for all the majestic things that God has to show me and teach me.

I summed up 12 personal reasons for why Christians must travel:

  1. See God’s glory through His design
  2. Visit God’s people
  3. See people’s need for God as a reality and not an imaginary concept
  4. Rest
  5. Make myself more vulnerable to God’s teachings by experiencing new things
  6. Self-reflection
  7. Renew my relationship with God
  8. Be inspired
  9. Find out where I am going
  10. Make new friends
  11. Be more thankful for all that I have
  12. Meet an angel.
I know you might be baffled by my “meet an angel” comment. But I really did encounter an angle in my dreams while I was staying in a hostel in Victoria.  And I knew I never would have encountered him if I didn’t go travel.  Whether you believe it or not, I knew that it was not simply a dream but a real angel that was sent by God to help me. And I had to be exactly where I was, when I was, to encounter him.
The world are full of wonders. And traveling makes them all special to me.
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Trisha Sebastian / Jun 29 2012 10:37 am

    Reblogged this on Travel with Trisha.

Leave a Reply

