Skip to content
08/22/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

Book Review: Heaven is For Real by Todd Burpo

Recently I read Todd Burpo’s book about his son Colton going to Heaven and back. I started reading (actually listening to the audio book) because my pastor has been preaching on Heaven and eternity.

The book is the true account of a family’s journey through the 4 year old son’s illness.  While undergoing surgery, Colton temporarily left his body and went to Heaven. I believe that the story is real.  I believe that Colton really did go to Heaven and come back.  His dad, Todd, the pastor, provided many scripture references to Colton’s claims about Heaven.

The story is told from Todd the father’s perspective. The story is engaging and I could feel the hurt that the family was going through while Colton was sick.  I am thankful that God let Colton experience Heaven so that many others would believe.  I am also thankful that God is merciful to Colton’s family and healed Colton.

There are a couple of things that I learned about Heaven from this book that made me really happy. (Spoiler alert)

  • Unborn babies are in Heaven.
I know now that I have brothers and sisters in Heaven. I know that my older brother and I will see each other again in Heaven. I know that he must have been asking God to turn me into a Christian so that I may be with him some day in Heaven
  • There are dogs in Heaven.
I’ve always wondered about whether there are animals in Heaven. I always thought that there won’t be any animals because only man was made in the image of God.  But now I am happy to know that I will get to cuddle with puppies and kittens in Heaven as well.
  • God listens to our prayers.

After reading the book, I am 100% convinced that God answers our prayers.  I knew that before, but this book just really made it clearer to me.  God answered all my prayers when I was a child.  I won’t give away all the details of the book. But you will find amazing and true prayer stories in this book.

  • We must live with an eternity-centered attitude.
Heaven is for real.  This Earth is not our home.  God will give us a new home and new body. We will free and without pain the Heaven.  Knowing that Heaven is our destination, how can be more faithful on Earth? How can we best spend our time on Earth?

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.

Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart,

yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.”

Ecclesiastes 3:11

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Noel / Aug 22 2011 6:27 pm

    Interesting book review! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Geist / Dec 24 2011 6:55 am

    Its simply the boy describing his own DMT experienced which occurred during the surgery. simply what happened is that the boy colton died momentarily and in response his brain started to go through the death experience which involves the release of DMT from the pineal gland. If one wants to truly know about heaven (dmt experience) either smoke some DMT crystals, drink some ayahuasca or yage, or simply abstain from all drugs (alcohol sugar and caffeine included) and practice meditation and one can achieve the same experience.

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 Posts of 2011, Prayer Kingdom « Prayer Kingdom

Leave a Reply

