Skip to content
08/27/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

Say This Prayer Before Your Sabbath

Keeping the Sabbath is a Holy commandment.  I don’t think of God’s commandments as legalistic and strict. God wants you to rest. I believe that the commandments and teachings are for our own good.  I think that taking the Sabbath is more about keeping balance in our lives.  It helps keep our focus on God.

The Sabbath is about spending time with God.

Yesterday, I found out that my workplace will be functioning on Sundays now, instead of just Mon-Sat.  However, I will let my boss know that I won’t be working Sundays because I want to keep the Sabbath.  I am not sure if he will understand, but I pray that God will bring him a little closer to Jesus through me.

Here is a prayer for Sabbath I found in a book called “More Money Than God”* by Steven Z. Leder. I pray that it can help you enjoy a restful and Holy day with God.

Lord, ease the pounding of my heart by quieting my mind.

Steady my hurried pace.

Give me calmness amidst the confusion of my day.

Remind me each day of the fable of the hare and the tortoise that I may know that

There is more to life than speed.

Let me look upward toward the branches of the towering oak

And remember that it grew great and strong because it grew slowly.

Slow me down, Lord.

Slow me down.

(Leder, pg. 103)

*Note: Apologies for getting the name of the book wrong. I have corrected this.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carl / Aug 28 2011 4:51 am

    If your boss requires that you “work” on Sunday, will you quit? If the Sabbath is about spending tyime with God, will a Friday be acceptable, or maybe a Tuesday?

    Consider Hebrews 4 regarding the NT definition of Sabbath Keeping. I think you may find that the “Sabbath” is a Person.

    • Carl / Aug 28 2011 4:52 am

      I should have proof read but it is early – tyime = time

    • K Zhang / Aug 30 2011 12:04 pm

      Thank you for the comment!
      I should have defined the Sabbath first. I will do so in another post.
      I believe that the Sabbath is a concentrated amount of time that you devote to the Lord.
      The tradition has been to not work on Sundays.
      Personally, I take Sundays off. But it’s perfectly fine to do it any other day.

      If my boss insists that I work on Sundays, then I will quit my job because not only do I wish to take a Sabbath, I also need to go to Church.

      “So then, there remains a Sabbath rest for the people of God, 10 for whoever has entered God’s rest has also rested from his works as God did from his.” – Hebrews 4:9-10
      Can you please clarify about the “Sabbath” being a person?

Leave a Reply

