Skip to content
09/27/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

3 Big Mistakes I Made This September

Are you make the same mistakes that I made this September?

September is a crazy time. But that’s not an excuse to walk away from God. I regret that I didn’t use this month more wisely.  I hope by sharing my mistakes, it can help you to grow as well.

Mistake # 1Not Have Daily Devotions

I didn’t keep my daily devotions consistent. I did not realize how far behind I was until I found some time to really sit down and pay attention to my Bible. Thank God for nudging me back on track.  It was not until I came back 100% to God that I realized how misguided I have been about how to spend my time.

Mistake # 2 Too Many Commitments

During this month, I find myself bombarded with commitments and events. I didn’t filter through many of them and wasted a lot of time.  I was hesitant to say NO to commitments that are not aligned with my priorities.

Mistake # 3 Crave Money More Than God

This is hard to admit.  But I had tons of time for work, and not enough time for God.  I was craving money more than God, by picking up too many shifts.  I was going after empty things that neither fulfills nor lasts.

In the book of Samuel, the people of Israel did not trust in God, but instead, they were desperate for a King to rule over them (instead of God).  And then a lot of people suffered the consequences of not honoring God.

In response to the sin and regret of the people,

“Samuel said to the people, ‘Do not be afraid; you have done all this evil. Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart. And do not turn aside after empty things that cannot profit or deliver, for they are empty. For the Lord will not forsake his people, for his great name’s sake, because it has pleased the Lord to make you a people for himself.’ ” –1 Samuel 12:20-22

Isn’t it great that God forgives us and gives us another chance to follow him?

Isn’t it great that even though we have sinned, we are still welcomed home?

We don’t need to feel guilty.  All we have to do is get back on track and follow God.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

