Skip to content
11/12/2011 / Kaitlin Zhang

Best Kept Secret of Great Interior Design

If you know me in person, you would know that I am an interior design nut.

Actually if you ever saw my art blog Try Art on Tumblr, you would know that I love looking at beautiful interiors.

There just seems to be something comforting when I look at beautiful interiors. Since I was a child, I dreamed of a place of my own.  When I was a child, I dreamed of a fantasy land where I get to be the ruler of my own world.  As I grew older, my imagination of my own world became a vision for the perfect home.  I would have a bright beautiful place filled with sunshine.  I would have beautiful wood floors where my (future) dog can nap on.   I would have a art studio that is also a huge library.

But what is the best kept secret of great interior design?

It is not the sunlight or the furniture or the cute puppy.

It is letting God become the head of my household.

Joshua said, “as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” – Joshua 24:15

Ever seen I began to know God, I started praying for each and every one of my apartments as I move in.  Sometimes I would walk into an empty space and pray out loud.

I pray for any evil spirit to immediately depart my home in Jesus’ name. I pray for the spirit of selfishness, jealousy, anger, fear, hate, to immediately leave my home in Jesus’ name. I pray that God will be the head of my house and my life.  I pray that my home become a place for me to honor and serve God. I pray for health and happiness and love. I pray that God would bless my home, every inch of physical space and everyone that comes into this space.

And something is changed in the spiritual realm as I pray these things. I know that God sends his angels to watch over me as I sleep at night.  I am safe and I am loved.

If you haven’t already done so, take some time and pray for you home too.

God bless.

Leave a Reply

