Skip to content
01/24/2012 / Kaitlin Zhang

Why I was Fasting on Chinese New Year

I live in Canada and most of family live in China. Every Chinese New Year, I call home from Canada and greet all my relatives. This year, as I was calling them, I felt an overwhelming sadness because I am the only Christian in my family.

You may be in a similar situation as me. You might have family or friends who you care for deeply, who are not Christians. I wish that you would join me in praying for them. You may even consider joining me in fasting and praying for them.

I was crying uncontrollably. And I felt a great sense of urgency to pray for all of my family members. Yet, I didn’t know what God want me to do to help them. Then, I felt a need to fast and pray for my family.

To fast properly, you need to have a plan (there are many websites and books on this topic). Here is my plan for this fast:

  • Objective:

To pray for my family (especially the ones in China). To ask God how I can show them God’s love.

  • Action:

Spend quiet time with God. Pray. Memorize Bible verses (Pslam 23).

I also decided to not tell anyone of my fasting until it was over. The Bible calls us to not boast about it.

  • Fasting plan:

The night of Chinese New Year, I didn’t eat dinner. The next day, I didn’ have breakfast or lunch. As I was fairly new to fasting, I decided to start small and slow. For dinner on the second day, I had soup, to ease my body slowly out of fasting mode.

  • Summary (Afterwards)
Record this experience and what God revealed to me in my journal. Continue praying.
If you can, please pray for my family as well. Thank you. Happy Chinese New Year!
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jeri / Jan 24 2012 12:42 pm

    hey kaitlin! stumbled on your blog. thanks for posting this. very moving and real. it’s funny, cause CNY for the typical chinese kid should be celebratory. full of rich foods and many festivities. i’m humbled that you weren’t even thinking about how you’re missing out on all that, but rather your heart is aching for your family to know jesus. our families really need to know jesus! praying that you will be ignite the revival fire in your family through the power of the holy spirit. amen. 🙂

  2. stargazer12 / Feb 22 2012 9:40 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog. My heart is melted by this post–we must keep praying for your family.
    All of my children finally came to the Lord after I did. But even now, I have to keep praying for them. We know that this cruel world and the dark powers would like to pull them away from Christ. His blessings to you and to your family.

Leave a Reply

